Monday, February 14, 2011

Adventures in Fancy-Shank Making

I recently order a knife kit, from knifekits.com (of all places). While I got materials for making a sheath as well, this is only about making the handle. My friend Jared helped me out with it (we used his shop) and was a tremendous asset, and not only because he took almost all the pictures, which is something I almost always forget to do.

Here's the blade that I started with (I taped the blade to make handling it safer):
Photobucket

The material I chose for the handle was G10, which is interesting stuff. Here's my initial layout using masking tape:
Photobucket
The G10 comes with a "protective layer" covering the textured side. That's what peeling up there.

Cutting out the rough pieces with a band saw:
Photobucket

Handle bits are rough cut, ready to take the protective layer (no, not the masking tape) off:
Photobucket

Using the drill press to make holes for screw sets:
Photobucket

Once that's done, the rough handles can be attached to the blade for shaping and sanding:
Photobucket

The bulk of the sanding was done with a belt sander:
Photobucket

The dremmel was used for the getting in to those "hard to reach" areas.
Photobucket

The handle pieces where then taken off the blade and screwed together in order to make the blade-facing sides symmetrical and nice.
Photobucket

Sandpapered it all to get a nice finish. These are the nearly completed handles:
Photobucket

Finished product!
Photobucket

All in all, I think this came out super bad-ass! There's some more fine sanding to do (and Jared hooked me up with some sandypaper) and there's a few places where I took just a little too much material off, but those are mostly hard to spot. Jared's review of the process was "unadulterated success" which I completely agree with.

Thursday, February 10, 2011

Prepare for the Worst; Expect the Best

Boy Scouts taught me to "Be Prepared." I find this excellent advice. Naturally, you can't prepare for everything. Nobody can. However, you can prepare for problems and issues that are likely to arise.

Typically, when looking into "disaster" preparation, most everybody (with any common sense anyway) will tell you to prep for the most possible thing first. Hint: Zombies are not the most possible disaster, no mater where you live. In my region, one of the most possible problems would be a blizzard. This basically means I have to have a way to keep warm in the home or car if I lose electricity. Sure I can plan for losing water, gas and sewer too, but those are a lot less likely.

There are other non-natural disasters to prepare for too. Like unemployement. Many people I know have been out of a job for months, if not years. This is much harder to prepare for, but I'll leave that advice for other places.

The problem with all this prepping when you get fixated on it. You worry so much about "impending doom and gloom" that you look for it everywhere. Any little bit of even slightly bad news is an omen to the impending apocalypse! Fear and paranoia take over and start making decisions for you. This is bad. That's not to say "throw caution to the wind" and go do whatever you want, but don't only focus on the bad things.

Prep for things because it's the prudent thing to do, not out of some irrational fear of the government, zombies or your neighbor trying to steal your magic beans. At the same time as all this prepping, remember to live your life. There's no point in surviving catastrophies if you've got no reason to live. Do the things you enjoy, spend time with the people you love and make sure you have something to fight for when the aliens show up.

Monday, January 3, 2011

I can haz summer nao?

Seriously, this cold winter bullshit is for the birds. If you're one of those freaks of nature that actually likes the cold, don't worry, I'll change my tune as soon as summer starts. I'll start complaining about the heat and saying shit like "Winter is better, because you can always add more clothes, you can only take so much off in the heat."

Yeah, that's not entirely true. Sometimes adding more clothes just reaches a point of zero return on investment. Also, while it's true you can add more clothes for warmth, that doesn't mean those extra clothes wont impede your mobility or keep you from doing something you'd like to do.

Take this last weekend for instance. I wanted to get some shoo'in (yeah, that's how I say it sometimes), so I ended up getting together with some of my son and some of my Zombros together and we all trundled up to a spot west of Jamestown to punch holes in paper.

The cold just made everything a pain. It's hard to load a magazine with glove on. It's harder to load them without gloves and your fingers keep freezing to the bullets/magazine/firearm. The cold was further magnified by my most despised weather pattern of all: WIND.

That's right, wind can just go fuck itself in it's on earhole. Seriously, it is the worst thing ever. More worser than paper-cuts, Justin Beiber, and a soccer ball to the testicles all combined. It's like having some annoying dude (like Justin Beiber) pushing you around all day, only you can't exact retribution with a paper-cut or a soccer ball to the nuts.

Yeah, I know, it's good for kite flying and wind energy, but wind turbines are usually much higher off the ground and the saying "go fly a kite" didn't come around because it's so awesome, now did it? (Besides, even flying a kite is hard in high winds).

So, in short: Fuck you cold. Fuck you wind.